Sundays Song, Short Bio & Links-James Weldon Johnson

Wanda D. Jefferson

Creation,

I was taught this song in grade school, School # 28, in Paterson, New Jersey. I never forgot it because somehow I knew the importance of it, for myself, and for my history. I took a nap, which should have been actual sleep, but wasnt, and woke up to thing song being on my heart.

The song itself has three parts, however, I was only taught one so that is the one I will list. I will also list excerpts in a short bio format of who wrote it and the reference links to find it all, because in no way do I want to take credit for the song or the bio in its entirety.

“Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing”

“Lift every voice and sing till earth and heaven ring,
ring with the harmonies of liberty;
let our rejoicing rise high as the listening skies,
let it resound loud as…

View original post 187 more words

Leave a Reply

